Meet our jury

Polstjärnepriset 2024

The jury

More jury members of Polstjärnepriset 2024 will be announced soon! Here you can find the jury of 2023.

Rikard Gateau
Head of the jury

Camilla Lundberg
Assistant head of the jury

Francisca Skoogh

Hermann Stefánsson

Lisa Ford

Per Nyström

Stephan Barratt-Due

Rikard Gateau, head of the jury

Rikard was educated as a musician on the tuba at the music academies in Malmö and Stockholm as well as London. After 25 years as an active musician in virtually all Swedish orchestras, he switched to orchestra director. He is currently associated with Västmanlandsmusiken, with responsibility for the artistic content of Västerås Konserthus, Västerås Sinfonietta and Regional Music and Dance. Rikard is also a board member of the Swedish National center for music talents.

Camilla Lundberg, assistant head of the jury

Polstjärnepriset welcomes Camilla Lundberg as assistant head of the jury. Camilla is a well-known culture personality in the press, radio and television. She has a solid background as a music critic at Dagens Nyheter, Expressen and Kulturnyheterna, SVT. On Swedish radio she can be heard in the popular “Klassiska podden” and among the music experts in “Musik-revyn i P2”. Camilla Lundberg has long experience from jury work: in addition to several music competitions also the Guldbagge Awards, Prix Italia and Rose d’Or. As an amateur cellist, she enjoys playing string quartets.

Francisca Skoogh, piano

Francisca made her debut at the age of 13 with the Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra and has studied in Copenhagen and Paris. In 1998 she won the Soloist Prize in Stockholm and two years later she was awarded second prize in the Michelangeli competition in Italy. In recent years she has worked closely with conductor Leif Segerstam. Francisca has also premiered several works by contemporary composers. In addition to her soloist career, she teaches at the Malmö Academy of Music. In 2018, she was admitted to the Royal Swedish Academy of Music.

Photo: Rickard Södeberg

Hermann Stefánsson, woodwinds

Hermann Stefánsson is solo clarinetist in the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra since 1995. He has been a professor at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm and guest professor at the Lodz Music Academy in Poland and the Sarajevo Music Academy in Bosnia. Hermann has performed as a soloist with both Swedish and international orchestras. He is an active chamber musician, member of the Royal Philharmonic Wind Quintet and the Swedish Serenade Ensemble. Hermann regularly gives master classes both in Sweden and abroad.

Photo: Mats Lundqvist

Lisa Ford

Since 1993, Lisa Ford has been the principal horn player in the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra. Lisa is an active chamber musician and soloist and a member of the Contemporary Music Ensemble Gageego. She is a senior lecturer at the Academy of Music and Drama at the University of Gothenburg and serves as a mentor for the Master’s Program in Symphonic Orchestral Performance, where she coaches brass and chamber music ensembles. Lisa was educated at Interlochen Arts Academy, graduated from the Norwegian Academy of Music, and has been a member of the Civic Orchestra of Chicago. She previously served as Assistant Principal Horn of the San Diego Symphony Orchestra. Lisa holds a degree in Catalytic Coaching and is a certified professional coach.

Per Nyström, cello

In the 1990s, Per Nyström founded Yggdrasilkvartetten. For over ten years they toured the world and won prizes in several major international competitions. He has also worked as a solo cellist with the Malmö Symphony Orchestra, the Norwegian Radio Orchestra and Camerata Nordica. Currently, Per is solo cellist in Uppsala Kammarsolister and Uppsala Kammarorkester. In 2006 he co-founded Aurora Chamber Music, now Kammarmusikens Vänner, which over the years has produced nearly 60 festivals both in his home region of Vänersborg/Trollhättan and elsewhere. In 2012 Per was awarded the royal medal Litteris et Artibus.

Stephan Barratt-Due, strings

Stephan Barratt-Due is a third generation violinist in the Barratt-Due family, a family long-established on the musical scene. Since his debut in 1981, he has been very active as a soloist, chamber musician and orchestra leader with countless tours in Norway and internationally, and has participated in a number of CD and TV recordings. Since 1985 Stephan has been principal and artistic director of the Barratt Due music institute.

Photo: Sverre Jarild