The jury 2023

Meet the Polstjärnepriset jury 2023

The jury

The Jury

Sten Cranner (Norway/Sweden) Head of the jury

Polstjärnepriset welcomes Sten Cranner as head of the jury. Cranner is general manager and artistic director of the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, where he has been planning manager since 2010. He was general manager of the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra in 2006-2010 and orchestral manager of the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra in 2003-2007. Before that, he was project manager at the Oslo Philharmonic in 2000-2002, and he has also worked with other professional ensembles in Norway. Cranner has been head of the Polstjärnepriset jury on several occasions and initiated the current collaboration between Polstjärnepriset and the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra.

Photo: Dan Holmqvist Göteborgs symfoniker

Camilla Lundberg (Sweden) Assistant head of the jury

Polstjärnepriset welcomes Camilla Lundberg as assistant head of the jury. Camilla is a well-known culture personality in the press, radio and television. She has a solid background as a music critic at Dagens Nyheter, Expressen and Kulturnyheterna, SVT. On Swedish radio she can be heard in the popular “Klassiska podden” and among the music experts in “CD-revyn”. Camilla Lundberg has long experience from jury work: in addition to several music competitions also the Guldbagge Awards, Prix Italia and Rose d’Or. As an amateur cellist, she enjoys playing string quartets.

Photo: Don Titelman, SVT

Randi Krogvold Lundqvist (Norway) Woodwinds

Randi Krogvold Lundqvist has a deep and versatile background as a musician and teacher, with a special focus on talent development. She is currently head of the wind department at Barratt Due Musikkinstitutt in Oslo and has for many years held the same position at Valdres sommersymfoni. Randi studied at the Norwegian Academy of Music, has worked in all the major Norwegian orchestras and performed at leading festivals in Norway and abroad.

Per Ivarsson (Sweden) Brass

Per Ivarsson is the Principal Trumpet of the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra and teaches at the Academy of Music and Drama, Gothenburg University. In 2015–2016 he served as Principal Trumpet of the Oslo Philharmonic and began his soloist diploma studies under professor Håkan Hardenberger in Malmö. After that he moved to Karlsruhe, where he had the opportunity to explore baroque repertoire on original instruments, as well as contemporary music with Ensemble Phoenix in Basel. On his return to Sweden, he was appointed Co-Principal Trumpet of the Malmö Symphony Orchestra, and won his current position in Gothenburg a few years later.

Marianna Shirinyan (Denmark) Piano

Polstjärnepriset welcomes the Armenian-born pianist Marianna Shirinyan as a member of the jury. She is one of the most creative and sought-after pianists in Europe today. Among others she has performed with symphony orchestras in Munich, Oslo, Helsinki and Copenhagen. Already at the age of 19 Marianna held a part-time position as a teacher at the Musikhochschule in Lübeck. Since 2015 she is professor at the Norwegian Academy of Musik and from summer 2020 she is co-artistic director of the Valdres Sommersymfoni in Norway. Marianna has received the Danish Broadcasting Corporation’s award for her contribution to Danish music life.

Photo: Nikolaj Lund

Sigurbjorn ”Sibbi” Bernhardsson (Iceland) Strings

Polstjärnepriset welcomes the Icelandic violinist, ”Sibbi” Bernhardsson as a member of the jury. Bernhardsson joined the string faculty at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music in Ohio in 2017 after 17 years of performing with the Pacifica Quartet. Bernhardsson himself graduated from the same conservatory in 1995 and among his teachers were Almita och Roland Vamos. Before moving to Oberlin, Sibbi studied violin in Iceland with the legendary Guðný Guðmundsdóttir. Bernhardsson serves as director of the Cooper International Violin Competition at Oberlin and as the artistic director of Iceland’s Harpa International Music Academy.

Martti Rousi (Finland) Strings

Martti Rousi studied with Arto Noras at the Sibelius Academy and with Janos Starker at the Indiana University. In 1986 Rousi won the Silver Medal at the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow and has since then performed as a soloist with leading orchestras and conductors all over the world. In 1995 he was appointed professor of cello at the Sibelius Academy, where his cello class is attracting talents from around the world. He is invited to do masterclasses in leading academies on all continents and frequently serves as a jury member for major competitions.